02 January 2019
Facebook has finally started to rollout Messenger's unsend feature to users on both Android and iOS devices. It is currently being made available in Bolivia, Columbia, Lithuania, and Poland but there are plans of releasing it worldwide in the near future. It was recently made available for select iOS users but the final stable rollout has started now.
It is being referred to as Remove feature which has two extensions: Remove for Everyone and Remove for You. It means you can choose whether to delete a sent message for all the recipients or from only your end. If you will choose the latter, the message will get deleted from your side but will be visible to the recipient(s). Once the message has been unsent, you will see the text "You removed a message" and when deleted for everyone, the recipient will see a tombstone in place of the message.
The ability to unsend messages can be used only within 10 minutes of sending the message. It can come in handy in various situations like when there is a mistake in the sent message or you ended up sending something to someone by accident. The good thing is that this feature works for all sorts of messages including texts, videos, URLs, GIFs, and stickers.
It is worth noting that even if a user deletes a message, Facebook will continue to keep a copy of it for some time. This is said to be done to ensure that bullies or anyone do not try to misuse the feature. It will allow recipients to report about any unwanted or harassing message and help Facebook in verifying the claim even after the message has been deleted.
Lastly, Facebook said that the team is working on making the unsend feature even more useful. It is considering adding more customizable functionality to the feature like the ability to delete a complete thread or selected messages after a preset amount of time. It did make it clear that even though such functionalities are under consideration, there is no surety if they will actually be released.