18 February 2019
It seems like Apple is all set to bring curtains down on the Apple Music Connect feature. As reported by 9to5Mac, it has started to alert all the music artists on the platform about the changes that will be affecting Connect. The biggest one is that artists cannot share any more Connect posts anymore which, to be honest, is not at all surprising.
The report mentions that Apple has sent out an email to detail the Connect-related changes to music artists. The email mentions that new Connect posts would not be allowed to share starting December 13th but since the date has already passed, it means no more new posts from your favorite artists. It further said that will existing posts will also be removed from the "For You" page, they will be visible in search results until May 24th, 2019.
Apple introduced Connect at the same time when it debuted the Apple Music app in 2015. It was announced as one of the three core features of the service and a way for music artists to directly interact with their fans. It was meant to be used by artists to share posts like texts, videos, and audio clips with fans. As for fans, they could see those posts and react to them by liking or sharing comments. While the feature was used by many of the high-profile celebrities in early days, all the traction started to go down as the time went by. The effect was so significant that just a year later, Apple removed the dedicated Connect tab from the app and moved it to the bottom of the For You page.
Moving forward, Apple wants artists and users to focus on the redesigned Artist Pages and personalized Radio Stations. Here is the official email sent to artists by Apple:
"We’ve made a few changes to Apple Music that we’d like to tell you about. We’re always looking for ways to enhance our focus on artists and help them better connect to fans. So we’ve given Artist Pages an all-new design and added new, personalized Artist Radio. Today we’re streamlining music discovery by removing Connect posts from Artist Pages and For You. This means you’ll no longer be able to post to Connect as of December 13, 2018, but all previously uploaded content will still be searchable until May 24, 2019. You can still create Artist Playlists with the latest version of Apple Music."