13 January 2020
Like all major social media platforms, Instagram allows users to connect their accounts with third-party applications and websites. It helps them take benefits of the services provided by those respective third-party sources. While it is intended to be good, it can result in privacy issues as well. This is the reason Instagram has released new privacy features for users to take more control over data shared with other apps and websites.
Instagram settings have been updated to include a new Security setting that shows all connected apps and websites at a single place. It can be accessed by visiting Settings -> Security -> Apps and Websites on your updated Instagram app. The list not only shows the name of the connected app/website but also the date when you linked the account with it. There is a Remove button next to each of them which can be tapped to remove the connection.
Instagram is also changing the interface which appears when you are connecting your account with any app or a website. It will now show your account name, name of the app/website, and the type of information you will be sharing. It is meant to give you a clear picture of what you will be putting at stake if you choose to proceed ahead.
Interestingly, Instagram will take about six months to release both of these privacy features to everyone around the world. This is significantly longer as compared to what it usually takes for other Instagram features to arrive. It has not offered any reason for the delay but we will keep you posted if any new details will emerge.