03 June 2021
This approach will continue for "several weeks" and if someone still does not accept, the aforementioned pop-up notification will become persistent. This will result in limited functionality of WhatsApp for those users. It will allow users to receive incoming audio and video calls as well as respond to incoming texts through the notification. The users will not be able to access their chat lists, initiate a conversation, and make calls.
This limited functionality will continue to be available for a "few weeks" after which WhatsApp will stop that as well. It will stop sending notifications about new messages and calls to the users' devices. In other words, the application will simply become non-functional for them. WhatsApp says it will not delete any account for not accepting the new policy but it already has a policy for deleting inactive accounts after 120 days. This particular policy will be applicable to all users.