03 August 2021
Signal is one of the well-known instant messaging apps that is built around maintaining user privacy and data safety. One of its features is the ability to send disappearing messages. These messages get deleted automatically after a preset time which is beneficial for conversations that are too sensitive. However, one has to enable the setting for each new disappearing conversation manually which is slightly inconvenient.
This is the reason Signal is now introducing a default option for disappearing messages. It will result in all new conversations starting as disappearing conversations by default. This is beneficial for those who make use of the feature quite frequently and on regular basis. It will save them from the trouble of enabling it on a per-conversation basis.
The best part is that it is very easy to enable the setting through app settings. It is important to note that this setting will not affect your existing conversations, be it individual or group. It will get applied to all the new conversations that will take place after the setting has been enabled.
The team has further added more flexibility to adding disappearing messages timer. The new options range from as quick as 30 seconds to as long as four weeks. There is also a Custom Time option that you can choose to set a custom timer which is not available in the list of presets.
These changes are available with the latest Signal app version available on Android and iOS. One can check for the update by visiting the Google Play Store and App Store respectively.