17 December 2021
TikTok has announced new privacy features for all the teenage users on the app. The majority of the changes are aimed at users 16 years of age or below and a few of them are also meant for aged 16 and 17. The announcement says they want teens to make decisions about who they share their content with.
Starting from now onwards, TikTok says all new 16-17 aged users will have their Direct Messaging settings set to "No One" by default. They will need to make changes to the settings proactively if they want to use messaging. All existing users who have not used DMs yet will receive a prompt telling them about privacy settings and asking to review them.
TikTok is offering new privacy changes related to video sharing. All accounts of users aged 13-15 will be set to private by default which means only their followers and friends will be able to see their videos. As for users who are at least 16 years of age, TikTok will show an alert while posting the first video. They will have to choose whether their videos can be seen by Followers, Friends, or just themselves.
Teen users will also have control over who can download their TikTok videos. The option is only for users aged 16 and 17 where they will be able to enable and disable downloads at will. All users below 16 years of age will have the download option for their videos disabled by default.
Lastly, TikTok has made changes to improve the digital well-being of teen users. It says that users up to 15 years of age will stop receiving push notifications after 9 PM and users of age 16-17 will stop receiving them after 10 PM. This is to ensure that users spend less time on their phones.