16 December 2021
Twitter has expanded the ability to record Space sessions to everyone on Android and iOS. It was previously available to select users as part of limited testing. The feature can only be enabled by the Space host and all participating members will also get notified about the same.
The Space recording option needs to be selected at the time of creation. It will show a recording icon that will notify all participants that the session is getting recorded. There is an Edit Start Time option that you can use to set the time after which recording should begin. Once the session is over, Twitter will show the number of people who joined the Space. It will also offer a link to the recording that can be tweeted and shared on other platforms.
All recorded Spaces will continue to exist for the next 30 days. These will allow anyone with the link to replay them and listen to the whole session. It is specifically beneficial for those who could not attend the Space live but would want to check conversations that took place. In case you would like to delete the recording before 30 days, you can do that manually any time you want.
It should be noted that the 30-day limit is only for the public availability of the Space. Twitter will continue to keep a copy of the Space for 30 to 120 days to review for any policy violations. The recording can be done only via the official iOS and Android apps with no support for web versions and third-party clients yet. However, you can listen to recordings on the web version.